Fancy Fish: My grilled sole with confit tomatoes and a basil sauce.

by cookingbrains09

sole 1 IMG_6741
Flavours as crisp and clear as the air that fills these days. Intense colours, foreshadowing the nearing spring. And a lightness that I have been craving for all throughout winter. My grilled sole with confit tomatoes, served with a basil sauce, is a light dish. Grilling the tender and succulent fish, cooking the soft and silky confit tomatoes and grinding up the aromatic basil sauce won’t take you longer than 15 minutes. So if you suddenly feel like having a posh meal – then treat yourself to this most simple dish.

This years food will be simple. That’s a promise that I made myself. And it is one that intend to keep. Few but clear flavours, vibrant colours, less fuzz, more pleasure. This year I will go for “natural” flavours – a pinch of coarse sea salt here, a splash of lemon or a grind of pepper there. In 2014 I want to enjoy and explore different ingredients and take you with me on this journey, if you like.
My grilled sole with confit tomatoes and a basil sauce seems to be a good starting point for this. The meat of the sole is tender and succulent, with light smokiness. The tomatoes form an own little sauce, if mashed together and the aromatic basil sauce adds the final layer of depth. Food can be wonderful.

My grilled sole with confit tomatoes and a basil sauce.

Sole
Cherry tomatoes (on the vine)
Garlic
Basil
Olive oil, good
Olive oil, regular
Salt
Parmesan
Lemon

For this recipe I use slip sole, but any other type of sole or any other type of salt water fish with firm meat would do. I like to practice my knife skills, but you could just as well ask your fish monger to do the job for you. Depending on the size of your sole, I’d calculate about one sole per person – if this is supposed to be a starter, and a bit more if it isn’t.

Add enough olive oil to a pan, so that it will cover the tomatoes half-way up, allow to warm up, but don’t let it get too hot. Add the tomatoes on the vine, a few cloves of crushed garlic and a hand full of basil leaves to the oil. Cover the pan with a lid and allow to “cook” for about 10-15 minutes. The bottom of the tomatoes will start to ope up and release a few juices, it might also stick to the pot, so using non-stick might be a good idea. The oil can be used for dressing salads or pasta.

For the basil sauce use my green pesto recipe but omit the pine-nuts.

Mix a few tablespoons of olive oil with a bit of minced garlic. Brush the filets with the mix. Heat up a griddle pan, or your bbq, and wait for the pan to smoke. Quickly salt and pepper the filets and lower them into the pan and allow to grill on one side for a maximum of one minute (if your filets are “thick”) turn and grill the other side (a maximum of a minute). I like my fish a bit translucent, so I shy away from the minute mark (about half a minute from each side usually does it for me).
Enjoy on its own, with a bit of bread or a side of pasta.

