Moving in

by cookingbrains09

I have been promising this for a few years now. Procrastinated my way through most of the time. Envisioned and then dropped things. Made promises, advertised launches that never happened and asked plenty of people for their opinion, even if they weren’t really interested in giving it. I’m sorry for all your hardship, thank you for bearing with me. I’m ready, I’m finally moving in.

However, this is all very different from what I initially planned. The wallpaper should be up by now. It isn’t. And don’t get me even started on the logo for the header – I mean it is obviously lacking presence. Yet. It appears that things need their time – this seems to be true for life in general and for cooking in specific. Or something like that.

So I guess you and me, we will just have to go with this. It’s not that I had much of a choice. I mean you do, clearly, you could just click on the little cross somewhere in the right hand corner or, if you’re more of an apple-type yourself, on the tiny red dot in the top left corner. You could, but you shouldn’t. Because, you see, I have a plan. It’s a rather good one, if I may say so myself. You might enjoy it even: I am going do something revolutionary, I am going to write about cooking, on the internet. But, there will also be pictures. And questionnaires. (I was about to write pictures and polls, just for the alliteration’s sake, but you see, it really is going to be mostly questionnaires, after all I’m aspiring to become a psychologist.) So to be more precise: I’m going to write about cooking and brains – hence the name.

Food appears to have quite an interesting effect on our brain – and the brain, in return, seems to have a tendency to do odd things to our food. I’m interested in both processes, the way eating affects this big lump of greyish tissue that consists of far more pathways than it does of places and the way our brain makes sense of the lumps of organic mass on our plates and in our bowls. I would like to invite you to join me in my investigation. With that I obviously don’t mean you specifically dear reader, because I  don’t really care about you personally. It’s just that I need an audience, I need a few someones to follow me. And, I suppose, since you are already here, you could just as well be one of these someones. In fact, I would very much enjoy that.

This is going to be an interesting journey, there is going to be lots and lots of cooking, heaps of fun self-reflection, some exercises and a bit of theory– but no exams. I hope that together, you and me, we can shed some light on our eating- and food-history. Learn how and why you and I (sic!) are eating. And on the way have a lot of nights filled with booz and delicious dinners. This is going to be a good year!

