Godly Greens: My green asparagus with two sauces.

sauces asparagus 4 - DSCF3419I love my food to be a bit luxurious. A slight hint of decadence, paired with a bit of nutmeg and a nice chilled white wine. Spring is the perfect season for the kind of food you would expect at a posh British farmhouse for brunch. Simple but with the extra touch, that goes a long way. For me nothing expresses this romantic image of a slightly vintage -and decidedly hipstereque- posh meal better than asparagus with hollandaise. There is something naughty, almost forbidden about spooning a rich, yet light, butter sauce over a vegetable that can only be eaten for a short period in spring. If you want to treat yourself and those you love to a decadent dish, celebrating spring, have a go at my green asparagus with two sauces. The light and buttery sauce hollandaise and a ridiculously easy nutty cream-sauce are just the right accompaniment for the fragile and subtle spears.
Read the rest of this entry »